Competences of the Žilina Self-Governing Region

According to the Act No. 302/2001 on Self-Government of Higher Territorial Units, following competences were transferred to the regional governments: transport, territorial planning, regional development, culture and tourism, education, social and health care. Žilina Self-Governing Region administrates 118 organisations in the frame of its powers:

1 road administration

26 social care facilities

5 health care facilities (4 hospitals with polyclinics and 1polyclinic)

22 cultural facilities (2 theatres, 5 galleries, 5 libraries, 4 museums, 1 observatory and 5 regional cultural centres)

64 secondary schools (16 secondary grammar schools, 46 vocational schools and 2 school facilities)

Updated: 14/10/2015

Bottom navigation


Jazykové verzie webstránky